Getting a driver’s license is an exciting milestone for most 16 year olds, but is your teen familiar with driving laws and driver’s license restrictions? You’ll be able to find state-specific guidelines and restrictions on your local DMV website. These are often changed, so it’s important to stay updated.
For 16 and 17 year olds licensed in Connecticut, for example, for the first 6 months they may only drive with their parents or legal guardians at least one of whom holds a valid driver’s license, a licensed driving instructor, or a person providing instruction that is at least 20 years old and has held a license for at least 4 years with no suspensions for the last 4 years.
These driving limitations are set in place for the safety of your teen as well as the safety of other drivers on the road. It’s important that teens are also instilled with good habits and taught safe driving techniques. You and your teen should go over these safety tips together to increase the odds that they’ll keep themselves safe on the road.
- Keep your cell phone off
- Don’t text, even if at a red light
- Turn on your headlights to increase your visibility
- Obey the speed limit
- Minimize distractions; don’t eat, apply makeup, or play around with the radio
- Drive without other teen passengers
- Practice defensive driving
- Choose a safe car
The Byrnes Agency provides individuals with Connecticut Teen Auto insurance plans to protect against unforeseen damages and injuries. With access to dozens of insurers, we can obtain the most affordable rates for the coverages you need. Contact us today!
- Windham County / Dayville Insurance Office
- New London County / Norwich Insurance Office
- Windham County / Woodstock Insurance Office